Caught in the Web: Toward new Internet based Research Methods

David Saunders//International Relations//22nd January//1-2 pm//Arts C133

130730_israel_palestine_ap_328

 “In an attempt to trace how propaganda has or has not changed with the advent of the Internet and its associated technologies I have encountered many stumbling blocks to do with the shear size and fluidity of the online environment. Therefore I have had to look outside of traditional social science methods for potential solutions. This has meant I have explored some very unfamiliar territory with all their vocabulary, tropes and traditions. It is my aim in this presentation to outline some of the new, or at least uncommon, methods I have been using to further my research and to highlight some of the interesting possibilities and problems that these methods pose.”

Bio: “I have studied at Sussex since my undergrad days when I read Politics and International Relations. I then completed two Masters, again at Sussex, the first in IR and the second in Cross Cultural Research Methods. I am currently a part-time DPhil student focusing on new media, the Israel/Palestine conflict, and propaganda.”
This entry was posted in International Relations and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

